Summer Mentorship Program

Now in its fifth year, The Adroit Journal’s Summer Mentorship Program is an entirely free and online program that pairs experienced writers with high school and secondary students (as of the current academic year) interested in learning more about the creative writing processes of drafting, redrafting and editing. The 2017 program will cater to the literary genres of poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. The aim of the mentorship program is not formalized instruction, but rather an individualized, flexible, and often informal correspondence. It is our hope that mentorship students will feel comfortable sharing work at their own leisure with their mentors and with each other. 

We are very proud of our alumni from this program. Previous students have subsequently been recognized through the National YoungArts Foundation & United States Presidential Scholar in the Arts designation, the National Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, and the Foyle Young Poet of the Year Awards, among a plethora of others. Click here to view the mentorship alumni college list.

This upcoming year’s program will be open for applications via our submission manager on March 16, 2017. The program will last from June 25, 2017 until August 5, 2017, and will be capped at sixty students.


Applicants should possess firm work ethic and some familiarity with the writing and workshop process, and should be comfortable with receiving (and giving) commentary and critique. Applicants should also possess the will to explore and improve!

Please note that this opportunity will not offer academic credit (this is a friendship, not a class!), that participation in this workshop is not a route to publication in our journal, and that mentors and/or the program director have the right to terminate a mentorship student's involvement with the program at any time, should issues arise. At the end of the day, we are looking for the best potential: the writers with the drive to explore and discuss, the courage to delete and leap, and the determination to apply what they discover to future writings.


Application Process

Applications for this year’s mentorship program consist of two mandatory parts—a Writer’s Statement and a Writing Sample. The Writer’s Statement should detail the applicant’s specific interest in pursuing The Adroit Journal’s summer mentorship program. What is it about our program and mission that piques your interest? Why this workshop? How would you spend your time with us? We want to know. Aim for between 1-1.5 pages double spaced, and don’t be afraid to be creative and original. We like that.

While we of course suggest mentioning your experience and accomplishment with the writing and workshop processes, we will evaluate applications looking primarily for demonstrated passion and interest. We'd also like to suggest that you review the mission, ambition, and content of the journal for inspiration, if you find yourself stuck.

Each year, students ask for tips. Here’s the biggest one we can give: tell us why you want to spend your summer in this program, rather than a general summer writing or reading or editing. As always, the more specifics, the better.

The Writing Sample should consist of between four and five poems or between eight and ten pages of fiction or nonfiction (excerpts acceptable). 

If you wish to do so, you may also upload an Academic Transcript to supplement your application.


Students who wish to apply to multiple genres may do so by utilizing both the First Choice and Second Choice options in the mentorship application form linked below. Important: If you wish to apply to more than one genre, please include two complete writing samples, one for each genre, with your second-choice genre following the first.

As noted above, applications should be sent via our submission manager via this category. Please note that applications for 2017's program will be accepted until April 7, 2017. All decisions will be released by no later than April 30, 2017.

Please direct any additional questions to the editors at


CLASS of 2016

Co-Directors: Peter LaBerge & Douglas Ray 

Mentorship Correspondent: Frani O'Toole

Mentors: Garrett Biggs, William Brewer, Stephanie Cawley, Chen Chen, Caroline Crew, Michelle Donahue, Trista Edwards, Cody Ernst, William Fargason, Anthony Frame, Jennifer Givhan, Andrew Gretes, Alex Higley, Rochelle Hurt, Gina Keicher, Taisia Kitaiskaia, Peter LaBerge, Keegan Lester, Molly McGinnis, Carly Joy Miller, Matt W. Miller, Stephen Mills, Megan Peak, Maria Pinto, Christina Qiu, Nancy Reddy, Jim Redmond, Michelle Ross, Raena Shirali, Graham Todd, Jeff Whitney, and Emily Paige Wilson. 

Mentees: Olivia Alger, Sophie Allen, Margot Armbruster, Nikita Bastin, Anjali Berdia, Caroline Bernstein, Daniel Blokh, Annabel Brazaitis, Emma Camp, Annie Castillo, Letitia Chan, Michelle Chen, Emma Choi, Jisoo Choi, Annabelle Crowe, Helli Fang, Joseph Felkers, Kindall Gant, Michel Ge, Samuel Gee, Reuben Gelley Newman, Farah Ghafoor, Julia Gourary, Jaclyn Grimm, Alexandra Gulden, Jordan Harper, Rachana Hegde, Angelo Hernandez-Sias, Cassandra Hsiao, Eileen Huang, Jimin Kang, Alexandra Karaim, Lilly Keefe-Powers, Elizabeth Kim, Tomas Kontakevich, Anthony Lagana, Elizabeth Lemieux, Rachel Litchman, Katherine Liu, Patricia Liu, Kaley Mamo, Alyssa Mazzoli, Rhiannon McGavin, Noel Peng, Anika Prakash, Joey Reisberg, Jae Haeng Rhee, Josh Schlachter, Nicole Seah, Polina Solovyeva, Scott Stevens, Eliana Swerdlow, Kwan Ann Tan, Selin Turkyilmaz, Jordan Villegas, Alisa Wadsworth, Rona Wang, Alisha Yi, Emily Yin, Charity Young, Margaret Zhang, Lily Zhou, and Lisa Zou. 

Class of 2015

Director: Peter LaBerge 

Mentors: Aria Aber, Samantha Bares, Nicky Cayless, Alexander Cendrowski, Alexa Derman, Aline Dolinh, Michelle Donahue, Cody Ernst, Jackson Holbert, Kaitlin Jennrich, Lucia LoTempio, Amanda Silberling, Talin Tahajian, and Oriana Tang.

Mentees: Nathan Blansett, Gabriel Braunstein, Walker Caplan, Carissa Chen, Catherine Cheng, Jordan Cutler-Tietjen, Maya Eashwaran, Sophie Evans, Griffin Blue Fay, Maeve Flaherty, Talia Flores, Aidan Forster, Andrea Giugni, Ava Goga, Alex Greenberg, Kathryn Hargett, Anastasia Hutnick, Christina Im, Safwan Khatib, Anna Kramer, Michal Leibowitz, Jane Levy, Brianna McNish, Abigail Minard, Meghana Mysore, Taylor Petty, Ben Read, Brynne Rebele-Henry, Elena Sénéchal-Becker, Shannon Sommers, Jane Song, Caroline Tsai, Jamie Uy, Smriti Verma, Lucy Wainger, Eli Winter, Trudy Wrona, Carrie Zhang, Emily Zhang, Jessica Zhang, Audrey Zhao, and Emily Zhao.

Class of 2014

Director: Peter LaBerge

Mentors: Elizabeth Ballou, Alexa Derman, Katherine Frain, Kaitlin Jennrich, Caleb Kaiser, Peter LaBerge, and Talin Tahajian.

Mentees: Rebecca Alifimoff, Ethan Aronson, Adelina Ceretto, Lindsay Emi, Robert Esposito, Charlotte Goddu, Eden Arielle Gordon, Erica Guo, Caroline Harris, Maddie Kim, Jessica Li, Erica Lin, Emma Lister, Helene Lovett, Emily Mack, Alyssa Mulé, Meredith Prochaska, Christina Qiu, Lucy Silbaugh, Jasmine Simms, Audrey Spensley, Lily Spiro, Oriana Tang, Sarah Tran, and Daniel Warner.

Class of 2013

Founder & Director: Peter LaBerge

Mentors: Sarah Fletcher, Caleb Kaiser, Peter LaBerge, and Emma Townley-Smith.

Mentees: Julia Allen, Samantha Ardoin, Yasmin Belkhyr, Samantha Berkefeld, Rachel Bunting, Emily Burns, Brittany Clark, Sarah Craig, Flora de Falbe, Lauren Finkle, Katherine Frain, Miles Hewitt, Lily Kerfoot, Alicia Lai, Owen Lucas, Jane Loechler, Molly McGinnis, Reiss McGuinness, Bridget Menasche, Jacob Oet, Amanda Prager, Christina Qiu, Abigail Schott-Rosenfield, Amanda Silberling, Sarah Stanton, Talin Tahajian, Lucy Wainger, and Shelley Whitaker.