Adroit Prizes

The Adroit Prizes for Poetry and Prose are awarded annually to two students of secondary or undergraduate status whose  written work "inspires the masses to believe beyond feeling the work." In other words, we strive to receive the absolute best work from emerging young writers in high school and college, and the best of the best will receive these two lovely awards.

Note: The deadline for the 2015 Adroit Prizes for Poetry and Prose has passed. The editors are currently combing through the thousands of spectacular submissions we received for consideration. The winners will be announced in early May.

This year's poetry prize will be judged by Tarfia Faizullah. This year's prose prize will be judged by Alexander Maksik

Tarfia Faizullah is the author of Seam (Southern Illinois University Press, 2014), winner of the 2012 Crab Orchard Series in Poetry First Book Award. Her poems appear in American Poetry Review, Ploughshares, The Missouri Review, The Southern ReviewMassachusetts Review, Ninth LetterNew England ReviewBest New Poets 2013, and Washington Square Review, among others. A Kundiman fellow, she is the recipient of an AWP Intro Journals Project Award, a Ploughshares Cohen Award, a Fulbright Fellowship, a Copper Nickel Poetry Prize, a Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Prize, scholarships from Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference and Sewanee Writers’ Conference, fellowships from the Kenyon Review Writers’ Workshop and Vermont Studio Center, and other honors. She lives in Detroit, and recently joined the University of Michigan Helen Zell Writers’ Program as the Nicholas Delbanco Visiting Professor of Creative Writing in Poetry.

Alexander Maksik is the author of the novels You Deserve Nothing and A Marker to Measure Drift, which was named a New York Times Book Review Notable Book of 2013. His writing has appeared or is forthcoming in Best American Nonrequired ReadingHarper’sTin HouseHarvard ReviewThe New York Times MagazineThe AtlanticSalon, and Narrative Magazine, among other publications. He is a contributing editor for Condé Nast Traveler, and his work has been translated into more than a dozen languages. A graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, he has received a Pushcart Prize and fellowships from the Truman Capote Literary Trust and The Corporation of Yaddo.



2014 —

Poetry: Nathan Durham: "Chevrolet," selected by Richie Hofmann
      Runner Up: Ian Burnette: "Harvests"
      Honorable Mention: Emily Knott: "Elegy Broadcast from the Top of a Radio Tower"
      Honorable Mention: Oriana Tang: "Chinese New Year"
      Honorable Mention: Maddie Kim: "Mothers in July"

Prose: Isabel DeBre: "Digging," selected by Wendy Rawlings
Runner Up: Madeleine Cravens: "Girls and Boys: Growing Up in Four Parts"
      Honorable Mention: Dalton Fischer-Linnett: "When Dutch Klaas was Fearless"
      Honorable Mention: Frances Saux: "Difficult"
      Honorable Mention: Catherine Mosier-Mills: "The Practical Applications of Calculus"

Editors' List:
Camara Brown | Poetry | University of Pennsylvania, '17
Alicia Lai | Poetry | Princeton University, '18
Cheryl Julia Lee | Poetry | Nanyang Technological University, '14
Emma Lister | Poetry | Colyton Grammar School, '15
Kyle Michelson | Poetry | Stanford University, '15
Torn Porter | Prose | Stanford University, '16
Christina Qiu | Prose | Livingston High School, '15
AM Ringwalt | Prose | Emerson College, '17
Lucy Wainger | Poetry | Stuyvesant High School, '16
Megan Walters | Prose | Interlochen Arts Academy, '15
Jay G. Ying | Poetry | University of Edinburgh '16


2013 —

Poetry: Shelley Whitaker: "The Fox Den," selected by Garth Greenwell
Runner Up: Rainie Oet: "Hookey"
      Honorable Mention: Emily Bernard: "My Father, the American Hero"
      Honorable Mention: Katherine Frain: "South Carolina"
      Honorable Mention: Da'Shawn Mosley: "Because You Expressed Desire, Once, to Be Here"

Prose: Elizabeth Martin: "Too Small Yet," selected by Marlin Barton
Runner Up: Lily Fishman: "The Beach"
      Honorable Mention: Emily Hittner-Cunningham: "After Looking-Glass"
      Honorable Mention: Eric Stiefel: "Ronald Reagan Walks Again"
      Honorable Mention: Ashley Zhou: "A Man of Convenience"

Editors' List:
Yasmin Belkhyr | Poetry | The Garden School, '14
Kathleen Cole | Prose | University of Chicago, '17
Caleb Kaiser | Poetry | School of the Art Institute of Chicago, '16
Kayla Krut | Poetry | University of California - Berkeley, '14
Charles McCrory | Prose | University of Mississippi, '16
Christina Qiu | Prose | Livingston High School, '15
Kathleen Radigan | Poetry | Connecticut College, '17
Iris Samuels | Poetry | Israeli Defense Force
Rachel Stone | Poetry | Princeton University, '17
Lydia Weintraub | Prose | Saint Ann's School, '14
Victoria White | Poetry | Milton Academy, '14


2012 —

Poetry: Stephanie Guo: "Clear Tea," selected by Chloe Honum
Runner Up: Nicholas Pierce: "After My Mother's Wedding"
      Honorable Mention: Michelle Jia: "Mrs. D"
      Honorable Mention: Jessie Li: "Pyrus Pyrifolia"
      Honorable Mention: Eliza Moley: "Barcelona"

Prose: Phoebe Nir: "Talia and Kate," selected by Kirk Nesset
Runner Up: Flora Collins: "Debbie"
      Honorable Mention: Elizabeth Ballou: "Medicine Cabinet Confessional"
      Honorable Mention: Alina Grabowski: "The Great American Road Trip"
      Honorable Mention: Melissa Tolentino: "Reckless"

Editors' List:
Alexa Derman | Prose | Westfield High School, '14
Amy Gopinathan | Poetry | Princeton University, '14
Sara Kassel | Prose | Philadelphia University, '14
Caroline Kelley | Poetry | Wellesley College, '16
Katy Li | Poetry | Coppell High School, '14
Molly McGinnis | Poetry | Boise High School, '13
Rick Manayan | Poetry | Punahou School, '13
Sienna Zeilinger | Prose | Brown University, '15
Tina Zhu | Prose | Shanghai American School, '13